Two new projects! Woohoo!

wpid-wp-1397121543643.jpgwpid-wp-1397121583420.jpg

So I am feeling really positive about my internships this week because I met our venue people (who are doing quite a lot of the organising for the Storytelling Festival) and Sarah seems really practical and professional and seems keen to give me marketing stuff to do!

wpid-1397133359217.jpg

I’m helping with that and Graham said I can do the publicising for Pop-Up Storytelling so I’ve formulated a massive list of people to ask if they want us to come to their venue. I’ve already got an email back from someone who sounds really keen! So hopefully that’s in response to our product being good and the copy I wrote being persuasive. I’ve tweeted and Facebooked about the Pop-Up already but I’m just waiting for a response so I can put up info on the Website, too. I really think that will be a clincher in getting people interested.

Yesterday I went to New Art Gallery Walsall and I went down to the Archive (with Jo Digger!!-from the book I am reading. V. excited about that. She set up the whole Archive from the start of TNAGW!) and we discussed what we would put in the Festival of Good Things which Zoe said I can organise! If it goes well It will be great experience. I have already researched some hog roasts. It’s replicating another festival run by Kathleen Garman in 1967. This one will take place in August and it’s going to be a day of all sorts of stuff, workshops and things. Next week I’m going to go to a ‘Salaam Celebration’ evaluation meeting at TNAGW next Tuesday so seeing how they have done a festival already will give me a better idea of what I’m going to be doing.

Salaam Celebration Flyer
Salaam Celebration Flyer

I met ‘A Colourful Crowd’ too! It’s a group of 19-21 year olds who are organising a show called ‘One Hundred and Onesies.’ They’re in the locking-it-down phase as it starts in a month and they’re getting out promotion soon. It’s a great opportunity they’ve got. Apparently they met Sue Beardsmore the other week to get speaking tips! Young people are where you can hit funding as well. It’s a great thing to do and it totally fits TNAGW’s mission statement and funding is a good by-product. It made me think that August is not that far away! It’ll be great to go to their meeting next week to see their process, too, and how they’ve progressed with all their wicked ideas!

Please leave a reply

