Handwritten Reflective Journal [Electronic version]

2.11.13

I was quite happy that Carol Wild’s module in ‘Current Issues in Art and Design Education’ was leading me to the idea that, even if you’re not a teacher, you can still be an educator. I was happy about this because I felt I fitted in with a large group of teachers better after I realised this idea. I was looking at a female Artist-Educator, Suzanne Lacy, for an essay entitled, ‘Educating in public: Creating community through the art of the American Feminist Artist-Educators of the 1970s, in their own words.’[1] Suzanne Lacy was a psychology major who decided to become a feminist and a performance artist. In a tutorial I mentioned to Carol that I liked that Lacy had moved from one field to another. Sometimes one can feel like they’re in a (metaphorical) box and feel like they’re not permitted to move. I didn’t think I thought that, but I did. The conversation was getting a bit close to the bone so I changed the subject but Carol did say, you are allowed to do what you want to, which shouldn’t matter but it made me feel freer somehow in what I wanted to learn. The emphasis on Visual Arts at Margaret Street made me forget that I am drawn to other Art-forms too. Theatre and musical theatre and music are the Art-forms with which I feel most natural and comfortable. The novelty of Visual Art is nice, though. There are so many opportunities to get involved in it, to see and even critique artists’ works at BIAD.


[1] Alex, Educating in public: Creating community through the art of the American Feminist Artist-Educators of the 1970s, in their own words (Birmingham, Unpublished essay, 2013)

Please leave a reply

